Subscribe to receive our media releases

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Student film makers showcased at awards ceremony in Adelaide

The South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy (SACOME) is proud to announce the winners of its 3rd annual video competition for students, Dirt TV, following a high profile Awards Ceremony at Adelaide Oval last night.

A total of 34 students took part in the 2016 competition and a record 17 entries were received, with students from across South Australia battling it out for over $10,000 in cash prizes.

With more schools engaged than ever before, awards on the night were dominated by Josh Langman from Westminster School, taking out the $5,000 BHP Billiton Best Overall Video and the $1,000 Heathgate Resources People’s Choice Award with his hilarious video, ‘Mining, but wait there’s more!’. His school also wins the $1,000 AV Award.  

Nigel Long, Acting Chief Executive of SACOME said the video struck the right chord with the public and the judges for its creativity, effectiveness in delivering a message and its overall comedic appeal.

“Josh did it all. Wrote the content, acted it out and edited the production superbly. It was a very funny video and you can tell he did his research.”

The Santos Best Directing Award went to Sebastian Deverson from St Johns Grammar with his inspiring story, ‘It’s our future’ which built up to a dramatic ending to deliver a powerful message. 

Jordan Miegel and Oliver Douglas from St Johns Grammar teamed up to create ‘Mining the music of life’ which aptly won the Women in Resources South Australia Best Music category for its melodic undertones produced by the pair.

The final category, the Resourcing SA Best Writing Award was won by Alice McVann from Loreto College with her video, ‘Mining and Technology’ which was well planned and executed to creatively showcase various technology.

The 2016 Awards Ceremony was opened by the Treasurer and Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy, the Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP. The event attracted a range of resource sector stakeholders and industry representatives, together with many students, families and teachers.

Treasurer Koutsantonis presented two special commendations on behalf of the State Government, who sponsored the awards ceremony. Liliana Carletti from Pedare Christian College was commended for writing, for her video ‘Thank you mining’ and Daniel Simmonds from Salisbury East High School for his video ‘What mining means to people’ for animation.

Dr Long said the competition provided a fantastic opportunity for students to put their creative skills before some of the State’s top arts and resource sector leaders.

“I congratulate all the students who entered for creating compelling video clips that reflect what the mining or oil and gas industries mean to them” Dr Long said.

“It was obvious that all productions involved a lot of hard work and students did a great job highlighting the resources sector, its benefits and the use of its products in everyday life.

“A key aim of Dirt TV is to promote understanding of the resources sector in South Australia and the career opportunities available,” Dr Long said. 

“We hope over time this will help maximise the opportunities to South Australians and grow the State’s capabilities to support the sustainable growth of our minerals and energy industries.” 

Dirt TV began in 2014 and is a video competition asking students in years 7 to 12 to produce a short video clip illustrating what mining means to me, or what oil & gas means to me. 


2016 Dirt TV Winners:

  • BHP Billiton Best Overall Entry

Josh Langman – Westminster School – Mining, but wait there’s more!

  • Heathgate Resources People’s Choice Award

Josh Langman – Westminster School – Mining, but wait there’s more!

  • Santos Best Director Award

Sebastian Deverson – St Johns Grammar – It’s our future

  • Resourcing SA Best Writing Award

Alice McVann – Loreto College – Mining and Technology 

  • Women in Resources South Australia Best Music Award

Jordan Miegel & Oliver Douglas – St Johns Grammar – Mining the music of life

  • Special Commendation (writing)

Liliana Carletti – Pedare Christian College – Thank you mining

  • Special Commendation (animation)

Daniel Simmonds – Salisbury East High School – What mining means for people


2016 Dirt TV judging panel: 

Mr Terry Burgess – President – SACOME

Dr Alison Wotherspoon – Head of Screen & Media – Flinders University

Mr Steve Whitham – Managing Director – Whitham Media

Mr Tony Dyson – Senior Lecturer in Creative Industries, Scree and Media – TAFE SA

Dr Wilson Main – Lecturer Media Arts – University of South Australia 


Media contact: 

Nigel Long, Acting Chief Executive, SACOME 08 8202 9999 or 0448 848 038

(High resolution images – Stephen Batten, Communications Officer SACOME This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. - 08 8202 9999 or 0427 385 385)



L-R: Sebastian Deverson, St Johns Grammar, Alice McVann, Loreto College, Josh Langman, Westminster School and Jordan Miegel, St Johns Grammar